The Prosperity Gospel

For me, the prosperity gospel doesn’t mean a lot.  In other words, it does not change my faith.  I know that God is not going to give me a BMW just because I pray and ask Him for it.  But I also grew up without ever needing anything.  That’s not to say I didn’t want the newest American Girl doll, or the fashionable clothes that all my friends wore, because I did.  My parents can attest to that.  The difference is that I never had to go without.  We always had at least three meals a day, I always had more clothes than I could wear (even if they were hand-me-downs), and a nice house, with air conditioning and a roof that didn’t leak.

How can they not hope for a better life?

But imagine if you didn’t have any of those things.  Your children were always hungry, and there were no shoes.  Your house is a hut, covered in palm branches.  You cooked rice and dahl three times a day, outside, over an open fire.  You swept the dirt floor as the children played outside with empty water bottles as their only toys.  No showers.  No toilets.  No running water.  No hope.

If you were to forsake your Hindu gods wouldn’t you want to believe that by becoming a Christian and knowing Jesus that God would change all of that for you?

“God will give you a good life.”  These are words that I have heard pastors tell the congregation.  “You will not have any problems with Jesus” are lyrics to songs that young women have translated for me.  These things only scratch the surface of this complex issue that I am only beginning to understand.

God is enough.  Not in our prosperity, but in those moments where there is nothing else.

This entry was posted in Culture, Religion, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Prosperity Gospel

  1. Mom says:

    God has placed you where you are for many reasons. He is doing a good work in you while you are doing a good work in others. What an amazing time this is for you! As much as we all miss you here, I know this is where you are supposed to be at this moment.

    We love love you, miss you, and are extremely proud of you.

    Mom, Dad, Morgan, Marshall, and Olivia
    p.s. I like your gross medical pics.

  2. newborn321 says:

    I really dislike the prosperity gospel because it paints a false image of God. It also makes Christians targets to be ridiculed by the world when the “name it claim it” nonsense does not work.

  3. Anonymous says:

    I am so proud of you. Cathy

Leave a Reply

