Reunion

I apologize for the long absence.  I have spent the last several days traveling a lot, without much or any access to internet. 

Monday, I drove all day to Chilakaluripet to the AMG Headquarters and main office.  What was supposed to be a 7 hour drive really turned into over 9.  With only one bathroom break.  Thank goodness I brought my own toilet paper.

Upon my arrival I was greeted by my long lost American friends Aneesa, Justin, and Chris!  Sarcasm, jokes, and laughter proceeded as I again had the wonderful opportunity to speak English like I do back home.

Tuesday the four of us spent the day going to Veda, one of AMG’s schools here where we spent some time watching the children’s procession as they sang the national anthem, saluted, and read passages of Scripture.

We proceeded out of town after this to the rock quarries.  Here it is very common for children to come with their parents to work alongside them, earning wages for the family.  Besides being rather dangerous, these children have been deprived of an education, or a chance at becoming anything other than what their parents are.  But thanks to some generous donors AMG has been able to set up a school near the quarries for the children to attend.  At this school you have children who are the first generation in their family to learn English, or to even get a regular education.  It was so encouraging to see the bright smiles and faces of these young children as you knew they were being given a chance their parents never were.

 After being forced to eat a huge lunch that included soup, pasta, rice, potatoes, chicken, two desserts, and mango we had a long, fast, and bumpy car ride where I sat in the back.  Not a good combination.  I got pretty sick.  Once we got back to the house I still didn’t feel better.  I ended up getting sick three times that night, and had a fever of 99.5 (which everyone was worried about because apparently in India only a temp of 98.6 is normal).  They also wanted me to eat more food (just what I needed!), drink warmed milk (also not great for someone who is terribly nauseated), and eat chocolate (ok, I’m a HUGE fan of chocolate, but seriously?  It doesn’t taste great coming back up).  I stuck with my Sprite and Cheerios.  They don’t have plain crackers here.

Wednesday we drove to Chennai (Madras) for Justin and Chris’ flight back to the states.  Again, the 5 hour drive turned into 7.  Saying goodbye for the second time was not as hard as the first.  I hope you are enjoying a nice cheeseburger and fries, you traitors.

Now I’m back in Chilakaluripet staying at the AMG headquarters and school.  Back to living a life of charades as I mime my way through communicating with people.  Just three more weeks…

This entry was posted in Chilakaluripet, Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Reunion

  1. Chris Jack says:

    I’m glad you’re feeling much better. I think Justin fully recovered as soon as we touched American soil…. If it makes you feel any better, we haven’t had any cheeseburgers or fries yet, but I did splurge on two pieces of fried chicken and a biscuit. Good luck with the rest of the trip, I hope God blesses you as you reach out to those who truly need him. I think a reunion 3 shall be in the works…

    All the best,
    Chris

    P.S umm…… thanks…. for eating all of my Cheerios…..!!! You owe me

  2. patbagley says:

    Good afternoon Chelsea,
    My, what interesting observations. I just read back thru your entire blog. I am not sure you got both of my messages. We arrive in Delhi on July 28. Our schedule in-country is 29/30 in Jaipur & Ajmen; Aug 1/2, Chandragarh/ Punjab; and on 3/4 in Lucknow. Will you be anywhere close to this? I certainly llok forward to hearing your presentation at Rotary in October. Congressman Black will be here Oct 19 to also visit to Rotary and to speak in Nursing Auditorium. we will want to meet with her. I have told her you may be interested in an internship with her in Washington. She will likely get you to work on th ehealthcare bill in some capacity. Good luck Chelsea.

    • chelseanye says:

      Thanks, Dr. Bagley! I did get your messages, but I will not be anywhere near where you are going. It seems like you are heading to the northern states, and I am in the south-eastern part of the country. Thank you so much for working on Congressman Black! I will put these on the calendar as I am looking forward to this very much!
      Good luck with your trip! I am looking forward to the presentation to the Rotary in October!
      Thanks,
      Chelsea

  3. Chris Davis says:

    This morning Frank McClung told me about your blog and I just finished reading all the posts. I remember once sitting in the car with you and telling you how much I believed in you. I still do! You will always be amazing to me. How can He not work through someone as available to Him as you are?

Leave a Reply

